The 2017 JCK Jewelers’ Choice Award Winners



For the fourth year in a row, a ring—and an everyday one at that!—took the top prize, but that’s just one of the honorees in our 10th annual jewelry design competition: Shy Creation’s Kate collection 14k yellow gold starburst ring, which boasts 0.58 ct. t.w. pavé-set diamonds and rings in at just $1,490 retail. Behold the 50-plus necklaces, bracelets, and assorted glittering gems that stole retailers’ hearts (and votes).

 

— BEST BRIDAL DESIGN —


Over $10,000
Ring in recycled platinum with 5 ct. emerald-cut diamond and 0.9 ct. t.w. ethically sourced diamond accents; $149,500; Brilliant Earth; 800-691-0952; brilliantearth.com

 


$5,001–$10,000
Pirouetta collection double halo engagement semi-mount with 1 ct. t.w. diamonds and signature handcrafted filigree details; $5,930 (center stone not included); Kirk Kara; 800-874-0181; kirkkara.com

 


$2,501–$5,000
Semi-mount in 18k white gold with 1.55 cts. t.w. round pavé-set and side trapezoid diamonds; $4,900 (center stone not included); Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 


Under $2,500
Semi-mount in 14k rose gold with 0.54 ct. t.w. diamonds; $1,220 (center stone not included); Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

 

— MEN’S JEWELRY —


Over $1,000
Manno collection ring in 14k rose gold with 1.15 cts. t.w. white and champagne diamonds; $2,110; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 


Under $1,000
Beveled 8 mm wedding band in 14k yellow gold with lapis lazuli inlay with gold pyrite flecks; $900; Thorsten Rings; 888-209-4757; thorstenrings.com

 

— BEST BRACELET DESIGN —


Over $10,000
Art Deco geometric-inspired bracelet in 18k white gold with alternating white and fancy yellow oval, princess, and pear-shape diamonds; $55,000; Martin Flyer; 800-223-0330; martinflyer.com



$2,501–$10,000
Kate collection bypass bangle in 14k rose gold with 2.1 cts. t.w. diamonds; $4,600; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 


Under $2,500
14k yellow gold flexible bracelet with 4.08 ct. fire opal and diamond accents; $2,499; Parlé Jewelry Designs; 800-635-9800; parlegems.com

 

 

— GOLD JEWELRY —


Over $2,500
18k pink gold and diamond bangle bracelet with 0.7 ct. t.w. diamonds; $9,780 (also available in 18k white and yellow gold); Messika, Paris; 33-17-039-1800; messika.com

 


Under $2,500
18k yellow gold hammer-finished ring with 0.38 ct. t.w. round diamonds; $2,475; Jye’s International Inc.; 415-621-8880; jyescorp.com

 

 

— BEST EARRING DESIGN —


Over $10,000
L’Amour Crisscut diamond earrings; $30,790; Christopher Designs; 212-382-1013, ext. 1531; christopherdesigns.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
18k rose gold dangle earrings with 4.83 cts. t.w. round brilliant-cut white diamonds; $5,400; Mira Style; 213-622-5233; mirastyle.us

 


Under $2,500
14k rose gold fringe earrings with 0.25 ct. t.w. white diamonds; $840; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

— PLATINUM JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
Ring with eight pear-shape diamonds in platinum with white diamond melee; $32,000; Rahaminov Diamonds; 800-742-8864; rahaminov.com

 


Under $10,000
Platinum Art Deco blue sapphire and diamond ring; $7,975; Michael Schofield & Co.; 812-824-7789; michaelschofield.com

 

— BEST NECKLACE DESIGN —


Over $10,000
Necklace in 18k white gold with 53.8 cts. t.w. white diamonds; $82,000; Neon Gems Inc.; 800-NEON-GEM; neongems.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
Kate collection yellow gold choker with 1.56 cts. t.w. pavé-set diamonds; $3,990; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 


Under $2,500
14k yellow gold chain with 0.29 ct. t.w. round diamonds; $1,050; Majolie Collections; 213-489-1000; majoliecollections.com

 

 

— MIXED METAL JEWELRY —


Over $1,000
Men’s band with 14k yellow gold finish and a sleeve of Damascus steel; $1,775; Lashbrook; 801-352-7388; lashbrookdesigns.com

 


Under $1,000
24k gold and sterling silver Balanchine open cuff with fusion gold; $990; Lika Behar Collection; 201-933-7200; likabehar.com

 


— BEST RING DESIGN —


Over $10,000
Ring in recycled platinum with a 9 ct. ethically sourced oval Ceylon sapphire and 2.9 cts. t.w. marquise, pear, and round diamonds; $36,000; Brilliant Earth; 800-691-0952; brilliantearth.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
18k white gold Waterfall ring; $9,010; Gabriel & Co.; 800-886-5422; gabrielny.com

 


Under $2,500
Kate collection starburst ring with 0.58 ct. t.w. pavé-set diamond rays in 14k yellow gold; $1,490; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 


— TANZANITE JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
18k white gold ring with a 29.44 ct. tanzanite center and 6.36 cts. t.w. pavé diamonds; $100,660; Siera Jewelry; 213-623-6370; sierajewelry.com

 


Under $10,000
18k white gold cuff with sugarloaf tanzanites, mother-of-pearl backdrop, and diamond and tanzanite accents; $9,995; C. Krishniah Chetty & Sons; 91-804-000-1869; myjeweller@ckcsons.com

 

 

— BEST PRICE POINT —


$501–$1,000
Bar necklace with opal doublets; $895; Parlé Jewelry Designs; 800-635-9800; parlegems.com

 


Under $500
Kate collection yellow gold necklace with 0.03 ct. t.w. pavé-set diamonds; $390; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

 

— BEST STATEMENT PIECE —


Over $30,000
One-of-a-kind platinum ring with a 13.46 ct. Australian black opal, 0.61 ct. t.w. tsavorite garnets, 2.19 cts. t.w. blue sapphires, and 0.49 ct. t.w. diamonds; $160,000; Omi Privé; 877-664-4367; omiprive.com

 


$20,001–$30,000
Nine-stone L’Amour Crisscut band; $27,335; Christopher Designs; 212-382-1013, ext. 1531; christopherdesigns.com

 


$10,001–$20,000
Pear-shape fancy opaque ruby earrings with white diamonds; $19,530; Samira for Pink Diamond; 213-624-2611; samira@pinkdiamondusa.com; pinkdiamondusa.com

 


— COLORED DIAMOND JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
Platinum and 18k rose gold ring with 1.13 cts. t.w. Argyle pink diamonds, 2.03 cts. t.w. pink diamond melee, and 2 cts. t.w. white baguettes; $699,000; Julez Bryant; 760-931-1416; julezbryant.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
18k tri-gold ring with 0.51 ct. white round diamond and 0.31 ct. t.w. white melee, 0.41 ct. pink pear-shape diamond and 0.25 ct. t.w. pink melee, and 0.73 ct. yellow marquise-cut diamond and 0.27 ct. t.w. yellow melee; $8,000; Neon Gems Inc.; 800-NEON-GEM; neongems.com

 


Under $2,500
Manno collection ring in 14k rose gold with 1.15 cts. t.w. white and champagne diamonds; $2,110; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

 

— DIAMOND JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
Flexible coil ring with 16.5 cts. t.w. marquise-cut diamonds in 18k white gold; $78,750; Norman Silverman Diamonds; 877-687-3985; normansilverman.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
14k yellow gold Kaslique bangle; $8,945; Gabriel & Co.; 800-886-5422; gabrielny.com

 


Under $2,500
Eden collection earrings with 1 ct. t.w. diamonds in 14k yellow gold; $2,000; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

 

— CONTEMPORARY METAL JEWELRY —


Over $1,000
Black and gray stainless steel cable bracelet with 18k white gold and 0.43 ct. t.w. diamonds; $1,995; Alor; 858-454-0011; alor.com

 


Under $1,000
6 mm carbon fiber ring with a 0.05 ct. princess-cut diamond set in a 14k white gold box in a 14k yellow gold bezel; $999; Malo Creations; 450-682-6561; malobands.com

 


— PEARL JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
18k gold Living Heirloom pendant with a 20.6 mm Tahitian pearl and 1.04 cts. t.w. pavé-set diamonds; $29,995; Maui Divers Jewelry; 800-253-6016; mauidivers.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
14k white gold pendant with white and yellow diamonds and golden South Sea pearl; $3,000; Alamea Hawaii; 808-922-5333; alameahawaii.com 

 


Under $2,500
Rhodium-plated sterling silver cuff with white mother-of-pearl and white lab-grown stones; $795; Belle Étoile; 415-626-9223, ext. 1001; belleetoilejewelry.com

 

 

— LAB-GROWN DIAMOND AND/OR GEMSTONE JEWELRY —


Over $1,000
14k white gold cuff with pear-shape 10.42 cts. t.w. Chatham created sapphires and 0.71 ct. t.w. naturally mined diamonds; $12,250; Chatham; 800-222-2002; chatham.com

 


Under $1,000
Heritage ring in platinum-bonded sterling silver with rose-cut Lassaire simulated diamonds and lab-grown sapphires; $330; Lafonn; 714-826-8888; lafonn.com

 

 

— COLORED STONE JEWELRY —


Over $10,000
Platinum ring with 24.59 ct. Mozambique oval paraiba tourmaline and 1 ct. t.w. diamond accents; $800,000; Philip Zahm Designs; 831-662-3533; philipzahm.com

 


$2,501–$10,000
18k yellow gold ring with bezel-set pastel natural tumbled sapphires and white diamonds; $5,900; Parade Design; 213-627-4019; paradedesign.com

 


Under $2,500
14k yellow gold triangle necklace with 1.21 cts. t.w. lapis lazuli and 0.26 ct. t.w. diamonds; $1,000; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

 

— FASHION/BRIDGE JEWELRY —

 


Over $500
Rhodium-plated sterling silver cuff in hand-painted multicolored Italian enamel with pavé-set white lab-grown stones; $550; Belle Étoile; 415-626-9223, ext. 1001; belleetoilejewelry.com

 


Under $500
Sterling silver and rose gold–plated ring with mystic quartz center and CZ accents; $140; Elle Time & Jewelry; 469-221-0866; ellejewelry.com

 


— SILVER JEWELRY —


Over $1,000
Large brushed sterling silver cuff featuring a black onyx triplet center stone and white diamond accents; $2,975; Meredith Marks; 888-413-5077; meredithmarks.com

 


$501–$1,000
Bangle bracelet in rose gold–plated silver; $571; Breuning; 678-377-1673; breuning.us

 


Under $500
Sterling silver wave pendant with 6 ct. Caribbean blue topaz and 0.12 ct. t.w. white sapphires; $390; Frank Reubel Designs; 386-761-6945; frankreubeldesigns.com

 


— PERSONALIZED JEWELRY (BEADS, CHARMS, MESSAGING, INSPIRATIONAL) —


Under $1,000
14k yellow gold necklace with 0.36 ct. t.w. pavé-set white diamonds; $990; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com

 

(Top: Model photograph by Patric Shaw; hair: Fred Van De Bunt/Art Department; makeup: Regina Harris; stylist: Vladimyr Pierre-Louis; manicurist: Mayumi Abuku/Rona Represents; dress: Maria Lucia Hohan/mlh-shop.com; Kate collection starburst ring with 0.58 ct. t.w. pavé-set diamond rays in 14k yellow gold; $1,490; Shy Creation; 213-623-8900; shycreation.com; hoops with cultured akoya pearls in 18k yellow gold; $5,590Irene Neuwirth; 323-285-2000; ireneneuwirth.com)