Stuck on Hue: Sensational New Colored Stone Jewelry



Bright turquoise (sleeping) beauties, juicy emeralds, and cabochons that seem to be lit from within: Could these gemstones be any more intense or intriguing?

Photographs by Ted Morrison

 

Wouldn’t you much rather be forever in blue gems?

(Above, clockwise from far left) Cross earrings in 18k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise, blue sapphires, and diamonds, $14,210, Wendy Yue, Kowloon, Hong Kong, 852-2142-8188, wendyyue.com; Sprinkles ring in 18k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and diamonds, $4,000, Laurie Kaiser, Brentwood, Tenn., 615-373-7713, lauriekaiser.com; Snake drop earrings in 18k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise, diamonds, pearls, and rubies, $5,280, Wendy Yue; ring in 20k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and diamonds, $10,500, rosary set in 20k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and brown and colorless diamonds, $16,300, Buddha Mama, Miami, 305-213-2107, buddhamama.com; ring in 14k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and diamonds, $3,320, Effy, NYC, 212-944-0020, effyjewelry.com

 

jck0216_toc_2.jpg
We’re living in a material world. These are for material girls.

Necklace in 18k gold with raw black tourmaline and diamonds, $24,890, Adeler Jewelers, Great Falls, Va., 703-759-4076, adelerjewelers.com; ring in steel with dendritic agate, $245, Megan Auman, Jonestown, Pa., 717-269-3294, meganauman.com; earrings in 18k gold with banded and boswood agate and fossilized coral and diamonds, $11,780, Laura Pierson, Dallas, 214-308-1530, thelaurapierson.com
 

 

jck0216_still_0059.jpg
Make every day a green day with awesome emeralds.

Luxor ring in 14k gold with a cabochon-cut emerald and blue and champagne-color diamonds, $12,550, Graziela Gems, Highland Park, Ill., 773-619-3999, grazielagems.com; bracelet in 18k gold with emeralds and diamonds, price on request, Valani, NYC, 212-702-9703, valani.com; necklace in 14k gold with a sugarloaf-cut emerald and diamonds, $109,000, Davani for A&D Gem Corp., NYC, 800-234-3632, jewelsbyad.com
 

 

jck0216_still_0113.jpg
Gobstopper-size rings sure to leave them gobsmacked

Hamsa ring in 20k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise, sapphires, and diamonds, $4,500, mandala ring in 20k gold with cabochon-cut spessartite, diamonds, and enamel, $9,100, Buddha Mama, Miami, 305-213-2107, buddhamama.com; ring in platinum with a cabochon-cut emerald and diamonds, price on request, Robert Procop, Beverly Hills, Calif., 310-276-6041, robertprocop.com; ring in 18k gold with peach moonstone, colored sapphires, tsavorites, diamonds, and amethysts, $27,836, Lydia Courteille, Paris, 33-14-261-1171, lydiacourteille.com
 

 

jck0216_still_0069.jpg
Look polished with the unfaceted, unfussy cabochon.

Ring in 18k gold with sugarloaf-cut tanzanite and diamonds, price on request, Takat Gems, NYC, 646-728-0151, takat.com; bracelet in 20k gold with rubellite, diamonds, and enamel, $53,300, Buddha Mama, Miami, 305-213-2107, buddhamama.com; cuff in silver and 24k gold with cabochon-cut tanzanites, $7,700, ring in 18k and 24k gold with moonstone, diamonds, sapphires, and tsavorites, $61,600, Victor Velyan, Los Angeles, 213-955-5950, victorvelyan.com
 

 

jck0216_still_0021.jpg
These sunset-hued stunners will stir love at first blush.

Open collar necklace in 18k gold with raw kunzite and diamonds, $19,980, Adeler Jewelers, Great Falls, Va., 703-759-4076, adelerjewelers.com; Sumac Dynasty necklace in 18k gold with sugilite and colored sapphires, $5,875, Un Hada, NYC, 877-481-8706, unhada.com; ring in 18k gold with a cushion-cut kunzite and diamonds, $64,000, Coomi, Secaucus, N.J., 866-867-7272, coomi.com; Glamour ring in 18k gold with rubellite, rubies, pink sapphires, and diamonds, $95,000, Robert Procop, Beverly Hills, Calif., 310-276-6041, robertprocop.com