Behind the September–October 2019 150th Anniversary Cover Look

Sept Oct 2019 outside coverCover photography by Kenji Toma

Paper Artist: Jo Lynn Alcorn / Prop Stylist: Eriko Nagata

To mark this momentous occasion, we gathered pieces spanning—you guessed it—150 years. Thanks to the designers, galleries, and estate jewelers who let us borrow some of their most precious gems.

Ana Khouri daphne diamond emerald earringsDaphne earrings in 18k fair-mined white gold with 18.55 cts. t.w. emeralds and 10.14 cts. t.w. white diamonds, price on request, Ana Khouri, 646-998-4840, anakhouri.com

edwardian sapphire pearl diamond ringEdwardian platinum and 14k gold cocktail ring with 0.5 ct. diamond, 3.5 cts. t.w. sapphires, and natural freshwater pearls, $3,375, Wilson’s Estate Jewelry, 833-294-5766, wilsonsestatejewelry.com

bulgari midcentury diamond spray broochMid–20th century Bulgari brooch with 6.5 cts. t.w. diamonds in 18k yellow gold and platinum, $25,000, Macklowe Gallery, 212-644-6400, macklowegallery.com

1930s deco emerald buckle ring1930s platinum ring with 4.4 cts. t.w. emeralds and 1.5 cts. t.w. diamonds, $27,500, Macklowe Gallery

Marina B Yara braceletYara bracelet in 18k yellow gold with multicolored chalcedony and agate, designed in 1984, $22,000, Marina B, 212-510-8169, marinab.com

Flato art deco diamond ruby fan ringPaul Flato Art Deco–era platinum ring with 6.5 cts. t.w. pink sapphires and 2.5 cts. t.w. diamonds, $120,000, Fred Leighton, 646-759-9221, fredleighton.com

Victorian watermelon tourmaline necklaceCirca 1880 14k yellow gold necklace with watermelon tourmaline, $1,400, Wilson’s Estate Jewelry, 833-294-5766, wilsonsestatejewelry.com

David Webb zebra broochZebra circle brooch with enamel, rubies, and diamonds in 18k gold and platinum, introduced in 1967, $28,500, David Webb, 212-421-3030, davidwebb.com

Art Nouveau multicolor snake necklaceArt Nouveau 18k yellow gold necklace with peridot, garnets, citrines, and amethysts, $25,000, Macklowe Gallery, 212-644-6400, macklowegallery.com

Oscar Heyman peridot amethyst pansy earringsCirca 1930 Pansy earrings with 13.75 cts. t.w. peridots, 5.21 cts. t.w. amethysts, 2.38 cts. t.w. diamonds, and 0.52 ct. t.w. emeralds in 18k yellow gold, $48,000, Oscar Heyman, 800-642-1912, oscarheyman.com

David Webb coral maltese cross broochMaltese Cross brooch with carved coral, emerald, diamonds, and white enamel in 18k gold and platinum, introduced in 1966, $68,000, David Webb

Charles Loloma lapis gold cuffCirca 1980 Charles Loloma 14k yellow gold cuff with lapis lazuli, coral, and Lone Mountain turquoise, price on request, Mahnaz Collection, 212-717-1169, mahnazcollection.com

Le Vian aquamarine diamond ringRing with 7.72 ct. Santa Maria Aquamarine and 1.5 cts. t.w. Vanilla Diamonds in 18k Vanilla Gold, $25,000, Le Vian, 877-253-8426, levian.com

Martin Katz tsavorite earringsIvy earrings with 9.01 cts. t.w. tsavorite and 0.72 ct. t.w. diamonds in antiqued silver, 18k yellow gold, and platinum, $28,000, Martin Katz, 310-276-7200, martinkatz.com

Victorian rivière with 91 cts. t.w. old-mine diamonds in silver-topped yellow gold, $950,000, Fred Leighton

Verdura byzantine pendantByzantine pendant brooch with black spinel, rubellite, and colored stones in 18k yellow gold, designed circa 1934, $35,000, Verdura, 212-758-3388, verdura.com

1953 Van Cleef turquoise bracelet1953 Van Cleef & Arpels 18k yellow gold bracelet with turquoise and 3 cts. t.w. diamonds, $19,500, Macklowe Gallery, 212-644-6400, macklowegallery.com

Retro flower bouquet en tremblant ringRetro Flower Bouquet en Tremblant 18k yellow gold ring with 0.25 ct. t.w. diamonds, $1,350, Wilson’s Estate Jewelry, 833-294-5766, wilsonsestatejewelry.com

Belperron chalcedony Windsor leaf ear clipsWindsor Leaf ear clips with carved chalcedony, sapphires, and diamonds in 18k gray gold, designed circa 1960, $61,500, Belperron, 212-702-9040, belperron.com

Ana Khouri eva emerald diamond braceletEva bracelet with 3.95 ct. emerald and 25 cts. t.w. diamonds in 18k fair-mined white and yellow gold, price on request, Ana Khouri, 646-998-4840, anakhouri.com

Victorian cameo with onyx and pearls in 14k yellow gold, price on request, Beneficial Estate Buyers, 800-518-1137, beneficialestatebuyers.com

Renaissance Bouquet 18k gold ring with amethyst and pink tourmaline, 2007 (no longer in production), David Yurman

18k yellow gold bracelet with sapphires, circa 1960s–1970s, $13,950, Provident Jewelry, 561-747-4449, providentjewelry.com

(Macklowe Gallery pieces: Antonio Virardi for Macklowe Gallery)

Sept Oct 2019 inside cover(Inside cover: May 2017: Patric Shaw; June 2017: Gavin O’Neill; January–February 2018: Jean-Philippe Malaval)