Smart Stones: Our Rock-Star Ode to Colored Gems

Make a big noise with these cutting-edge gemstone styles. You might say they’re fit for a queen.

Photography by Joel Stans

Prop stylist Emily Mullin

Jewelry editor Rima Suqi

purple gemstone jewelryPurple Gems
(Clockwise from top) 14k rose gold ring with 2 ct. amethyst and 0.09 ct. t.w. diamonds, $970, Berco, 800-621-0668, bercojewelry.com; bracelet with 18.3 cts. t.w. amethysts in sterling silver with black rhodium, $5,100, Dilamani, 516-466-6767, dilamani.com; Hex 14k yellow gold ring with 6.65 ct. amethyst, $1,385, Alexa Sidaris for Malibu Gem Lab, 424-835-1490, malibugemlab.com; Ashna earrings with 8 cts. t.w. amethysts and 0.75 ct. t.w. diamonds in rhodium-plated sterling silver, $850 (sold as pair), Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com

 

enamel and inlay jewelryEnamel & Inlay
(Clockwise from top) 18k yellow gold Raquel ring with 2.18 ct. tanzanite and turquoise and purple enamel, $4,625, Sig Ward, 310-871-5360, sigwardjewelry.com; dome ring in 18k yellow gold with 5.08 ct. London blue topaz and 1.53 cts. t.w. peridot, $6,500, Erica Courtney, 323-938-2373, ericacourtney.com; Goddess enamel threader earrings in 18k yellow gold with 0.9 ct. t.w. emeralds, $6,555 (sold as pair), Tara Hirshberg for Gemfields x MUSE, 866-301-6873, musexmuse.com; Polkadot Inlay ring in 18k rose gold with opal, lapis, black onyx, carnelian, green and blue turquoise, cacholong, and charoite, $5,800, Marla Aaron, 917-991-9246, marlaaaron.com

 

carved stone jewelryCarved Stones
(Clockwise from top) Cantala earrings in 14k yellow gold with carved turquoise and 0.56 ct. t.w. diamonds, $2,018 (sold as pair), Eva Noga, sales@evanoga.com, evanoga.com; 18k yellow gold Fortunate Offerings earrings with carved tourmaline, pink coral, and white diamonds, $8,000 (sold as pair), Guita M, 866-301-6873, musexmuse.com; Bloom ring in 18k yellow gold with 13.44 ct. carved green tourmaline and 0.24 ct. t.w. diamonds, $7,095, Adel Chefridi, 845-684-5185, chefridi.com; Flower Vase necklace in 18k yellow gold with carved malachite, red coral, amethyst, mother-of-pearl, carnelian, citrine, rainbow moonstone, and 0.04 ct. t.w. diamond (chain not shown), $13,850, Brent Neale,
646-745-6831, brentneale.com

 

bicolor multicolor jewelryBicolor & Multicolor
(From top) Koko ring with 36.11 ct. ametrine and 7 cts. t.w. multicolored sapphires, $11,000, Misahara, 805-390-6326, misahara.com; 18k white gold ring with 25.52 ct. bicolor tourmaline and 0.91 ct. t.w. diamonds, $18,000, Emily P. Wheeler, 646-745-6831, emilypwheeler.com; sideways-rectangle ring in 14k rose gold with 7.5 ct. watermelon tourmaline, $4,685, Jacquie Aiche, 310-550-7529, jacquieaiche.com; 18k yellow gold necklace with watermelon tourmaline, $935, Aimee Petkus, 908-208-8460, aimeepetkusjewelry.com; Dhaar earrings with 73.27 cts. t.w. multicolor sapphires and 1.45 cts. t.w. diamonds, $2,300 (sold as pair), Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com

 

Emerald Accents
(From top) Forever earrings in 18k yellow gold with black rhodium, diamonds, and emeralds, $19,286 (sold as pair), Consuelo Blocker for Maxior, 55-11-3241-0233, maxior.com.br; 18k yellow gold earrings with tanzanite, diamonds, and emeralds, $24,950 (sold as pair), Joon Han, 310-339-5578, joonhanjewelry.com; 18k yellow gold Half Crownwork ball cocktail ring with green amethyst and emeralds, $4,985, Ray Griffiths Fine Jewelry, 212-689-7209, raygriffiths.com; 14k rose gold ring with 11.56 ct. opal,  4.77 cts. t.w. pink coral, 1.13 cts. t.w. emeralds, and 0.51 ct. t.w. diamonds, $9,054, Roberto Bravo, 90-21-2458-1720, robertobravo.com

 

clear quartz jewelryClear Quartz
(From left) 18k yellow gold Gem Quartz Shake with 4.71 cts. t.w. diamonds inside and 0.4 ct. diamond on chain, $17,900, Renee Lewis, 212-580-3971, reneelewisjewelry.com; rock crystal and 18k yellow gold Arp earring, $2,140 (sold as pair), Ten Thousand Things, 212-352-1333, tenthousandthingsnyc.com; 18k yellow gold Herkimer ring with diamond pavé halo, $3,000, ARK Fine Jewelry, 646-745-6831, arkfinejewelry.com; Grupo Corpo 18k Noble gold ring with 46.9 ct. quartz, $4,500, H.Stern, 212-655-3910, hstern.net