Pearl Domination: Give ’Em Shell With Lustrous New Jewelry Looks

Enter a golden age, get tickled pink, explore a gray area, work some white magic, and go back to black with our ode to pearls in all their multihued glory

Photography by Gavin O’Neill

Stylist Nadia Rath   

Jewelry Editor Rima Suqi

Model in pearl bib necklace18k white gold Spine drop earrings with Australian pearls and diamonds, $8,500, Samira 13, 310-652-1313, samira13.com; bow pendant necklace in rhodium-plated brass with mabe pearls, Swarovski crystals, and rock crystal, $3,630, Iradj Moini, 212-594-9242, iradjmoini.com; South Sea pearl bracelet with 8.34 cts. t.w. pavé diamonds, $22,000, Sanjay Kasliwal of the Gem Palace, 212-988-1511, gempalace.com; Medusa 18k rose gold ring with South Sea baroque pearl, sapphires, and diamonds, $21,000, Belpearl, 212-752-6600, belpearl.com; Kristen cuff in oxidized silver and 24k gold with 24.82 cts. t.w. mother-of-pearl and 0.15 ct. t.w. diamonds, $1,960, Lika Behar, 201-933-7200, likabehar.com; Grishna rhodium-plated pearl ring with 18k gold vermeil and diamonds, $800, Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com; American natural pearl double shank ring in 18k yellow gold, $4,720, Ten Thousand Things, 212-352-1333, tenthousandthingsnyc.com

 

Model in pearls in hairWhite South Sea and Tahitian pearl necklace (in hair) in 18k white gold with 1.8 cts. t.w. diamond clasp, $54,000, DSL Pearl, 212-575-9127, dslpearl.com; 18k gold–plated brass earrings with green amethyst, freshwater pearls, and Swarovski crystals, $795, Iradj Moini, 212-594-9242, iradjmoini.com; 18k rose gold ring with black South Sea pearls, $1,980, Alessandra Donà at Gioielli Group, 914-289-0206, alessandradona.com; 18k yellow gold Multi Tahitian Bubble pearl ring, $10,200, Assael, 212-819-0060, assael.com; 10k yellow gold cuff ring with Tahitian black pearl and 0.05 ct. diamond, $800, Hirotaka, 81-36-256-9617, hiro-taka.com; 18k white gold ring with Tahitian keshi pearls and 0.24 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,200, Baggins, 213-624-2277, bagginspearls.com; Tahitian and South Sea pearl ring in 18k gold with 0.97 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,300, Daniel Dilman, 800-732-7522, danieldilman.com; white South Sea and Tahitian pearl bangle in 18k white gold with 1.03 cts. t.w. diamonds, $7,200, DSL Pearl

 

Model in pearl chokerFour-strand akoya pearl choker with 4.56 cts. t.w. diamonds, $10,000, Butani, info@butani.com, butani.com; 14k yellow gold akoya pearl necklace with large removable lock, $12,200, Marla Aaron, 917-991-9246, marlaaaron.com; triple-strand white South Sea pearl bracelet in 18k white gold with 1.24 cts. t.w. diamonds, $18,000, DSL Pearl; Octopider ring in 18k rose gold with South Sea pearl and 2.85 cts. t.w. champagne diamonds, $8,500, Belpearl, 212-752-6600, belpearl.com; Floating Pearl Ear Pin in 18k yellow gold with 0.06 ct. diamond, $720, KatKim, sales@katkimfinejewelry.com, katkimfinejewelry.com

 

Model in baroque pearlsFreshwater pearl Icicle earrings in 18k gold, $1,575, Annette Ferdinandsen, info@aferdinandsen.com, annetteferdinandsen.com; 18k white gold necklace with freshwater baroque pearls and Ethiopian opal beads, $17,600, Jye’s International, 415-621-8880, jyescorp.com; Mahiya necklace with pearls and moonstones in blackened sterling silver, $3,000, Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com; Baby Akoya necklace in 14k yellow gold with 18k gold tricolor clasp, $5,200, Baggins, 213-624-2277, bagginspearls.com; Grotto pendant in 14k yellow gold with blue sapphires, freshwater soufflé pearl, and diamonds, $8,100, little h, 424-349-8203, littlehjewelry.com; Sagel pearl and diamond pendant (in hand), $2,800, Modern Moghul

 

Model in pearl hat18k white gold pearl choker (on hat) with 7.4 ct. emerald and 3.8 cts. t.w. diamonds, $18,000, Sanjay Kasliwal of the Gem Palace, 212-988-1511, gempalace.com; 14k gold akoya pearl large hoop earrings, $1,550, Mizuki, hello@mizukijewels.com, mizukijewels.com; sterling silver necklace with white cultured freshwater pearls and 0.38 ct. t.w. pavé diamonds, $2,800, David Yurman, 888-398-7626, davidyurman.com; 18k white gold Bubble bracelet with South Sea and Japanese akoya cultured pearls, $24,000, Assael, 212-819-0060, assael.com; 18k yellow gold South Sea pearl ring with 1.23 cts. t.w. diamonds, $1,725, 18k white gold South Sea pearl cuff with 0.08 ct. t.w. diamonds, $1,495, Cirari, 212-764-2823, cirari.com; stackable white South Sea pearl ring in 18k white gold, $1,595, Rudolf Friedmann, 212-869-5070, rudolffriedmann.com

 

model in gold pearls18k yellow gold Kobe Collier with 5.65 cts. t.w. diamonds and South Sea Burmese golden pearls, $58,000, Belpearl, 212-752-6600, belpearl.com; 24k yellow gold white pearl necklace with 2.8 cts. t.w. diamonds, $17,000, Sanjay Kasliwal of the Gem Palace, 212-988-1511, gempalace.com; golden keshi South Sea pearl necklace with 18k yellow gold clasp and 0.91 ct. t.w. diamonds, $22,800, set of two golden keshi pearl strands with 18k yellow gold shortener, $30,000, Assael, 212-819-0060, assael.com; 18k gold Branching Coral Kasumi pearl ring with 5.8 cts. t.w. rubies and orange and pink sapphires, $4,200, Kimberlin Brown, 917-478-8441, kimberlinbrownjewelry.com; golden pearl Talon ring in 18k gold, $2,050, Annette Ferdinandsen, info@aferdinandsen.com, annetteferdinandsen.com; stackable gold South Sea pearl ring in 18k yellow gold, $990, Rudolf Friedmann, 212-869-5070, rudolffriedmann.com; South Sea pearl ear cuff (worn as ring) in 10k yellow gold, $425, Hirotaka, 81-36-256-9617, hiro-taka.com

 

Model in pink pearls18k yellow gold freshwater pearl earrings with 3.44 cts. t.w. brown rose-cut diamonds, $3,790, Deeta Thakural, 212-944-7575, deetathakural.com; pearl and ruby lariat tassel necklace in 18k yellow gold with diamonds, $24,000, Andrew Glassford Jewels, 214-402-4952, andrewglassfordjewels.com; metallic pink freshwater nesting necklaces, $1,760, pair of nesting pastel multicolored freshwater pearl necklaces, $1,380, Gabrielle Sanchez, 212-473-8372, gabriellesanchez.com; white South Sea and pink freshwater pearl necklace in 18k rose gold with 0.4 ct. t.w. diamonds, $33,000, pink freshwater pearl ring in 18k rose gold with 0.46 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,050, DSL Pearl, 212-575-9127, dslpearl.com; freshwater Japanese baroque pearl ring in 18k yellow gold with 5.7 cts. t.w. pink, orange, and yellow sapphires, $3,890, Kimberlin Brown; Kasumiga and South Sea pearl bracelet, $11,000, Belpearl