Gem Hunt: The Hottest Hues and Most Coveted Colored Stones

From iridescent opal to multicolored sapphires to tourmaline in just about any shade you can dream of, these luscious gems are guaranteed to leave you on a rainbow high.

Photography by Jean-Philippe Malaval

Stylist Jen Smith

Jewelry Editor Rima Suqi

model in emerald earrings and turquoise ring with brown fur
18k white gold earrings with 45.31 cts. t.w. emerald beads and 0.4 ct. t.w. diamonds, $17,600, Nina Runsdorf, 212-382-1243, nsrjewelry.com; turquoise dome ring in 18k gold with turquoise stone, $7,000, Established, 646-745-6831, establishedjewelry.com; 18k white gold large Treasure ring with 2.71 cts. t.w. green and 2.14 cts. t.w. burgundy diamonds, $17,300, Ileana Makri, artemis@rainbowwave.com, ileanamakri.com; 14k yellow gold Nico necklace, $870, Selin Kent, sales@selinkent.com, selinkent.com; long bead and chain necklace with malachite, aquamarine, and tourmaline in 18k gold, $2,250, David Yurman, 212-752-4255, davidyurman.com; Dot bead malachite bracelet with sterling silver and cord, $450, John Hardy, 888-838-3022, johnhardy.com

 

model with pink tourmaline earrings and pink gemstone ring
22k and 18k yellow gold earrings with 38.19 cts. t.w. tourmaline and 0.12 ct. t.w. diamond, $17,765, Margery Hirschey, sales@margeryhirschey.com, margeryhirschey.com; large Botanical leaf ring in 18k rose gold with pink sapphires and champagne diamonds, $6,225, Michael Aram, 866-792-ARAM, michaelaram.com; 14k yellow gold multicolored cluster ring, $1,340, Eriness, orders@eriness.com, eriness.com; Dew Drop 18k yellow gold and 18k palladium white gold lariat with diamond, green garnet, and 11 mm Tahitian pearl, $2,485, K.Mita Design, 646-633-4573, k-mita.com

 

model with blue sapphire pendant and single earring
Single earring with garnet and diamond pavé bar, $1,885, Paige Novick, 212-252-1441, paigenovick.com; 22.33 ct. Lapis Lace pendant, $5,625, Adel Chefridi, 866-428-8777, chefridi.com; 
18k Cluster Trio ring with 2.85 cts. t.w. rubies and 0.189 ct. t.w. diamonds, $6,500, Temple St. Clair, 212-219-8664, templestclair.com

 

model with multicolored squash blossom necklace
Multicolored tourmaline Gypsy earrings in 14k yellow gold, $4,825, Retrouvaí, 646-745-6831, retrouvai.com; Desert Rising Collier necklace with tanzanite, Sleeping Beauty turquoise, iolite, orange sapphire, spessartite garnet, morganite, blue zircon, and strawberry, pink, seafoam green, and yellow tourmaline, $52,650, Marlo Laz, sales@marlolaz.com, marlolaz.com

 

model in turquoise bib necklace and black fur coat
Prachi necklace with 170 cts. t.w. turquoise and 3.3 cts. t.w. diamonds in rhodium-plated sterling silver, $7,500, Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com; 18k gold antique Hungarian opal and synthetic spinel earrings, $19,900, Renee Lewis, 212-580-3971, reneelewisjewelry.com; Barrels ring in 18k gold with cabochon amazonite, sapphires, and pavé diamonds, $1,500, Pure Form mixed-metal four-row ring in bronze, sterling silver, and brass with pavé cognac diamonds, $950, David Yurman, 212-752-4255, davidyurman.com; 18k yellow gold hinged cuff with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and diamonds, $22,500, Dana Bronfman, sales@danabronfman.com, danabronfman.com

(Sweater and coat: Pilgrim NYC/pilgrimnyc.com; jacket: Hildur Yeoman/hilduryeoman.com; dress and coat: Calvin Luo/calvinluo.us)