All About That Case: Create Displays That Will Stop Shoppers in Their Tracks

With a few easy-to-find props that won’t break the bank, create displays that will stop shoppers in their tracks

Photography by Patricia Heal

Prop Stylist Beverley Hyde   

Jewelry Editor Rima Suqi

Organic Mood

There’s nothing traditional about these engagement rings—gray diamonds, anyone?—or their presentation

PRO TIP: Stylist Beverley Hyde used natural elements, including driftwood and mushrooms, to achieve this organic look. This rough-edged stone, she explains, “is a type of sea rock you can buy in stores that would sell coral and crystals.”

organic bridal rings(From far left) Selena diamond halo ring in 14k yellow gold with 0.63 ct. t.w. rose-cut diamonds, $4,025, Valerie Madison, 206-295-6395, valeriemadison.com; Ella ring in 14k yellow gold with 2.25 cts. t.w. diamonds, $5,900, Vale Jewelry, 212-398-2708, shopvale.com; Grande Crescendo flare ring in 18k yellow gold with 0.4 ct. t.w. diamonds, $5,000, KatKim, sales@katkimfinejewelry.com; katkimfinejewelry.com; Branching Coral ring in 18k yellow gold with 0.56 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,640, Kimberlin Brown, 917-478-8441, sales@kimberlinbrown.com, kimberlinbrownjewelry.com; 18k rose and yellow gold ring with 2.14 cts. t.w. diamonds, $5,300, Avalina, 703-727-6585, avalinak.com; 14k rose gold ring with 1.21 cts. t.w. morganite and diamonds, $2,458, Point No Point Studio, info@pointnopointstudio.com, pointnopointstudio.com; Marie ring in 14k yellow gold with 0.4 ct. ruby and 0.21 ct. t.w. diamonds, $2,550, 14k gold ring with 0.5 ct. sapphire and 0.025 ct. t.w. diamonds, $1,920, Talon, 415-425-9276, talonnyc.com; Hyeres ring in 14k yellow gold with blue-green sapphire and diamonds, $3,450, Vale Jewelry

 

Rhapsody in Blue & Green

It might as well be spring year-round with these floral-friendly colored gems

PRO TIP: Your gems may be flawless, but the blooms surrounding them don’t have to be. “I like any flower that has a stem that is imperfect,” says Hyde, who set our jewels on a moss backdrop. “I love any wildflowers for this…even weeds.”

blue green gems with flowers(From far left) Wham! Bang! Pow! necklace in silver and 22k and 18k yellow gold with 71.24 cts. t.w. emeralds, $92,160, Judy Geib, 917-514-1166, judygeib.com; uvarovite garnet and diamond pendant necklace in 18k yellow gold with black rhodium, $18,150, chrysocolla pendant with micropavé diamond cap in 18k white gold with black rhodium, $20,625, Kimberly McDonald, 646-205-9994, kimberlymcdonald.com; 18k white gold necklace with 33.81 cts. t.w. diamonds and 82.37 cts. t.w. emeralds, price on request, Andreoli, 212-582-2050, andreoliusa.com; turquoise and diamond earrings in 18k white gold with black rhodium, $21,800, Kimberly McDonald; Venah necklace in rhodium-plated sterling silver with 23 cts. t.w. sapphires and 4.6 cts. t.w. diamonds, $5,500, Modern Moghul, 361-239-8799, modernmoghul.com; platinum ring with 8.45 cts. t.w. blue-green tourmaline, 0.32 ct. t.w. alexandrite, and 0.36 ct. t.w. diamonds, $22,000, Omi Privé, 877-OMI-GEMS, omiprive.com; 18k blackened gold bracelet with 68.53 cts. t.w. diamonds, price on request, Nina Runsdorf, 212-382-1243, ninarunsdorf.com

 

The Gold Type

Weathered wood and antique collectibles give these rich jewels a modern-heirloom vibe

PRO TIP: That chipped bowl below is a terra-cotta saucer from a gardening store, reveals Hyde. She finds these eclectic items on beaches, at flea markets—anywhere she travels. “Everything is a treasure. There are no rules.”

gold jewelry antique props(From far left) Crownwork link bracelet in 18k yellow gold with 0.16 ct. t.w. diamonds, $8,965, Ray Griffiths Fine Jewelry, 212-689-7209, raygriffiths.com; Enchanted Forest multirow Twig cuff in 18k yellow gold with 0.63 ct. t.w. diamonds, $17,000, Michael Aram,  646-625-7990, michaelaram.com; 18k yellow gold and diamond tulip motif chandelier earrings, $15,360, Lalaounis, 212-439-9400, lalaounis.eu; Mirror Cabochon ring in 18k yellow gold with 0.7 ct. t.w. pavé diamonds, $7,500, Roule & Co., 212-475-9329, rouleandco.com; 18k yellow gold ring with 0.48 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,125, 18k yellow gold ring with 5.88 cts. t.w. sapphires, $7,200, Page Sargisson Jewelry, 212-629-7092, pagesargisson.com; Diamond Torque cigar band in 14k yellow gold with 0.4 ct. t.w. diamonds, $6,400, Marion Cage, 504-891-8848, marioncage.com; Deco bracelet in 18k yellow gold with 131.04 cts. t.w. tanzanite and 2.92 cts. t.w. diamonds, $195,000, Temple St. Clair, 212-219-8664, templestclair.com; 18k yellow gold necklace with diamonds, $11,840, Marco Bicego, 866-424-2346, us.marcobicego.com