Donna Baker Now Officially GIA’s President

Donna Baker, who was appointed acting president of the Gemological Institute of America after William E. Boyajian resigned in May, will permanently hold that position. Baker, only the fifth president in the organization’s 75-year history, was vice president and general counsel prior to her appointment, positions she had held since February 2001. Her presidency represents a number of firsts for the organization: first woman, first lawyer, first not to come from a jewelry or gemological background, and the first not to come out of GIA’s own gemological or instructional staff. Her varied background includes 10 years as a nun. She also has a law degree and an MBA, and she got her G.G. after she began working at GIA. She is popular internally, and many GIA staffers applauded the selection. Baker said she “wasn’t expecting” to get the nod. “I have been doing interviews like e

This content is exclusive to JCK Pro subscribers. Subscribe now to access this and much more with discount code GOPRO21 for $199 for an entire year of access (reg. $249).


Already a JCK Pro? Log in

A JCK Pro subscription is your all-access pass to people and resources on the
cutting edge of the retail jewelry industry, from the industry authority you
know and trust

Learn about the Perks of JCK Pro

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out