WJA Announces Nominees for ‘Awards for Excellence’

For 24 years the Women’s Jewelry Association has honored women in the jewelry industry, celebrating their accomplishments at the annual “Awards for Excellence” gala. This year’s event will be held at Chelsea Piers in New York City on July 29. The top sponsor for this year’s event is Platinum Guild International.

Going beyond the ordinary, the nominees for these awards have all injected their own brand of creativity into various segments of the jewelry industry. 

Nominations for the Awards for Excellence are solicited from the entire WJA membership and past winners. The 2007 nominees are:

Design, Fine Jewelry & Watches: Eve Alfille, president, Eve J. Alfille Ltd.; Jeanine Payer, designer, Jeanine Payer, Inc.; Laura Gibson, designer, Laura Gibson; Paula Crevoshay, president, Mellika Co., Inc.; Temple St. Clair, designer, Temple St. Clair.

Manufacturer/Dealer/Supplier for Fine Jewelry & Watches: Eve Goldberg, vice president, William Goldberg Diamond Corp.; Gena Alulis, chief executive officer, Superfit, Inc.; Joanne Slawitsky, president, Kassoy

Retail (more than 15 stores): Catherine Coquillard, vice president, Jewelry Merchandising, QVC; Tryna Kochanek, senior vice president, Sterling Jewelers, Inc.; Marnie Mika, buyer, Designer Jewelry, Neiman Marcus.

Retail (fewer than 15 stores): Maria Piano, vice president of Operations, Shreve & Company; Melissa Keiser, jewelry buyer, Stanley Korshak; Susan Eisen, Susan Eisen Fine Jewelry & Watches.

Sales: Diane Vunic, director of Sales and Marketing, Suna Bros., Inc.; Robin Lutin, regional manager, JCK magazine; Susan Kilkenny, Watch & Jewelry manager, Vogue; Janet Goldman, chief executive officer, Fragments.

Marketing & Communications: Diane Warga-Arias, Educationalist & Business consultant, DWA Communications, Inc.; Helena Krodel, media manager, Jewelry Information Center; Linda Buckley, vice president, Media Relations, Tiffany & Co.; Michelle Peranteau, manager, Marketing Communications, Platinum Guild International.

Editorial/Reporting/Publishing: Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Jewelry editor, Veranda; Sophia Chabbott, Accessories Market editor, News, Women’s Wear Daily; Severine Ferrari, editor-in-chief, Wedding Dresses.

Special Services: Ana Lopez, University of North Texas; Gail Brett Levine, executive director, National Association of Jewelry Appraisers; Susan Elliott, dean of Students, Gemological Institute of America; Yancy Weinrich, event director, Luxury by JCK.
The Awards for Excellence recipients will be announced on July 29. In addition, WJA’s annual Hall of Fame Award will be presented to Anna Martin, past WJA president and senior vice president and regional manager, ABN AMRO Bank. 

Another highlight of the annual “Awards for Excellence” gala is a silent auction, which benefits the WJA Scholarship Fund. Tickets for the event are $275 for members; $325 for non-members. Tickets and information are available online at www.womensjewelry.org or by calling WJA Headquarters at 856-423-3156.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine