The Couture Awards Highlight American Couture Jewelry Designers

This past Saturday, December 8, 2007, the Pratt Mansions played host to Suz Andreasen’s labor of love—the Couture Awards.

The jury was composed of Karen Christians (Founder, Metalwerx School for Jewelry and the Metal Arts), Ronda Coryell (Instructor, Revere Academy of Jewelry Arts), Bert Denker (Curator, Winterthur Museum and Country Estate), Ulysses Grant Dietz (Curator, Newark Museum), Ursula Neuman (Jewelry Curator, Museum of Arts and Design), and Judith Price (Author and President, National Jewelry Institute).

Twenty-two of the forty-four jewelry designers named finalists were: Debra Adelson (NJ), Erica Druin (MD), Jill Hurant (NJ), Patricia Madeja (NY), Etienne Perret (ME), Jeffrey Appling (CA), Amanda Elizabeth (PA), Cassandra Jackson (NY), Amy Roper Lyons (NJ), Pat Pruitt (NM), Belle Barer (CA), Alexandra ForsytheAyesha Mayadas (NJ), Todd Reed (CO), Michael Boyd, (CO) Joanna GollbergSandra McEwen (NC), Deborah Rice (NY), Jennifer Chin (MA), Jonathan Greenfield (CO), Lauren Jackson (NJ), (NC), Jungwhon Joo (PA), (CT).

All entries were judged on artistic merit in design, wearability, originality and use of materials. 

Below are you can view participants, Kirstin Hanson, Michael Boyd, and Todd Reed, respectively, speak about their work.

Jump to Amy Roper Lyons and Pat Pruitt Come Out on Top at the Couture Awards.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine
JCK logo

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out