Minimum Wage Increases in 18 States and 19 Cities

On Jan. 1, 18 states, 19 cities, and one county raised the minimum wage in their jurisdictions, according to the National Economic Law Project.

States that boosted their minimum wage are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New York, New Jersey, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, and Washington.

Cities that individually increased their minimum wage are Flagstaff, Ariz.; Albuquerque, N.M.; New York City; Washington, D.C.; Minneapolis; 11 cities in California (Cupertino, El Cerrito, Los Altos, Milpitas, Mountain View, Oakland, Palo Alto, Richmond, San Jose, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Sunnyvale); and three in Washington (SeaTac, Seattle, and Tacoma). Bernalillo County, N.M., also hiked its minimum wage.

The federal minimum wage remains $7.25 an hour, as passed by Congress in 2007.

Among the biggest jumps are in Maine (to $10, from $9), Colorado (to $10.20, from $9.30), and Hawaii (to $10.10, from $9.39).

Most of the California cities, almost all tech hubs, now require a minimum wage that tops $13 an hour. SeaTac, Wash., and Sunnyvale, Calif., boast $15 minimum wages, more than double the current federal number.

In some instances, the required minimum wage varies depending on the size of the company and whether that company offers benefits.

To see the minimum wage in your state, click here.

(Image from Pixabay)

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine

JCK News Director