Diamonds / Industry

London Diamond Bourse Elects New President


The London Diamond Bourse elected David Troostwyk (pictured) president at its annual general meeting on May 23.

He takes over from Alan Cohen, who has headed the bourse since 2018. The transition was prearranged, and Troostwyk had served as copresident alongside Cohen for the past six months.

Troostwyk started his diamond career in Antwerp, where he established one of the first online diamond exchanges. He now heads Salotro, a retail jewelry business.

In other news from the London Diamond Bourse, jeweler and author Lewis Malka will succeed David Joffe as treasurer. Joffe is stepping down after nearly 30 years in the role.

Also at the bourse’s annual meeting, Charlotte Rose was reelected vice president, and Paul Koppelman was chosen as executive officer, replacing Trevor Sigsworth.

Koppelman, a local diamond dealer, has been involved with the exchange’s council of management for 40 years.

Deborah Smookler and Lisa Levinson were both voted onto the club’s management council, marking the first time the council has had a 50/50 male-female split. Levinson serves as U.K. head of the Natural Diamond Council, while Smookler is a jeweler.

(Photo courtesy of the London Diamond Bourse)

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine

By: Rob Bates

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out