ICA Appoints New Board and Committee Members

The International Colored Gemstone Association announced Tuesday the composition of its working committees for the 2007-2009 term.

Making the announcement was ICA’s newly elected president, Andrew Cody, of Cody Opal in Australia. Following the ICA Congress in Dubai, Cody remarked that, “The newly installed ICA Board of Directors and members of the reorganized committees are set to take the association forward building on the progress and achievements of the previous board headed by Joseph Menzie, while setting new goals and strategies to be achieved over the next two years.”

Cody added that the new committees are prepared to work full force on the promotion of colored gemstones while tackling the issues facing the gemstone industry today.

“We realize that we must take the lead when it comes to issues facing the gemstone industry worldwide and through our membership we anticipate being able to identify problem areas, find solutions and implement changes that will benefit the industry overall,” he said.

Newly installed vice presidents, Edward Boehm of Solana Beach, Calif., and Prida Tiasuwan of Bangkok, have also stepped actively into their new roles.

Boehm heads up three important ICA committees as chair of the Membership Committee, Promotion Committee, and Congress Committee.

Tiasuwan will chair the Mining Committee / Certification Committee – Mining, co-chair Special China Task Force, and will serve as a member of the Promotion Committee and Congress Committee.

The remaining directors and committee appointments are as follows:

Bryan Pavlik, Austria, Treasurer
* Member of Executive Committee
* Chair of Finance Committee
* Chair of Ethics & Arbitration Committee
* Co-Chair Administration Committee
* Co-Chair Website/Technology Committee
* Member of Congress Committee

Emmanuel Piat, France Secretary
* Member of Executive Committee
* Fujio Takada, Japan, Secretary
* Member of Executive Committee
* Chair of Trade Shows Committee

Jacqueline Grande, USA
* Chair of Bylaws & Amendments Committee

Michael Haag, Germany
* Chair of the Website/Technology Committee

Benjamin Hackman, USA
* Chair of Administration Committee

Capt. Ramji Sharma, Japan
* Co-Chair Trade Shows Committee
* Co-Chair of Ethics & Arbitration Committee    
* Member of Promotion Committee
* Member of Congress Committee

Surasit Sriorathaikul, Thailand
* Member of the Special China Task Force

Asraf Sultan, Thailand
* Co-Chair of Mining Committee / Certification Committee – Mining

Wilson Yuen, Hong Kong
* Chair of the Special China Task Force

Joseph Menzie, USA
* Chair of the Nominations Committee
* Co-Chair Member Services Committee
* Chair Sponsorship Committee
* Co-Chair Social Responsibility Committee
* Member Special China Task Force

Special Appointments:

Jean Claude Michelou, Colombia
* Director of Communications Committee
* Chair of Ambassadors Special Committee
* Co-Chair Social Responsibility Committee

Charles Abouchar, Switzerland
* Chair of the Industry Rules Committee & Liaison to GILC, CIBJO

Thomas Lind, Germany
* Chair of Lab Alerts (under Industry Rules Committee)

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine
JCK logo

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out