CFDA Nominates Jennifer Fisher for Accessories Designer of the Year Award

Jewelry designer Jennifer Fisher, who almost single-handedly elevated hoop earrings to high fashion with her chic namesake collection, has been nominated for the 2020 CFDA American Accessories Designer of the Year Award. 

Fisher is the only jewelry designer nominated for any CFDA award this year, and this is the second consecutive year she’s been nominated. The other nominees in the Accessories category are Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for the Row, Gabriela Hearst, Stuart Vevers for Coach, and Telfar Clemens for Telfar. 

“It’s very nice to be recognized two years in a row in such a competitive category,” Fisher tells JCK. “It feels incredible to be the only person [nominated] that exclusively manufactures jewelry.”

Before launching her jewelry collection in 2005, Fisher was a wardrobe stylist on feature films, television shows, and commercials in New York and Los Angeles. Her first foray into designing was a name necklace she made to celebrate the birth of her son. She received so many requests for it from friends, she pivoted full-time to jewelry design.

Fisher was a finalist for the 2012 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund and was nominated for an Emerging Talent Award at the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards, the same year she opened her flagship store on Fifth Avenue. Famous fans, including Jennifer Lopez, Katy Perry, Michelle Obama, and Selena Gomez, flocked. 

The CFDA Awards are designed to celebrate excellence among CFDA members, which currently includes 63 jewelry designers, among them Andrea Fohrman, Lorraine Schwartz, Anna Sheffield, Monica Rich Kosann, Mimi So, Temple St. Clair, Irene Neuwirth, Paige Novick, Monique Péan, Cathy Waterman, Scosha Woolridge, Stephen Dweck, and Pamela Love. 

Here’s who nominated in the various categories:

American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row, Brandon Maxwell, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, and Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year: Emily Adams Bode for Bode, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, Thom Browne, Todd Snyder, and Tom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row, Gabriela Hearst, Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry, Stuart Vevers for Coach, and Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year: Christopher John Rogers, Kenneth Nicholson, Peter Do, Reese Cooper, and Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Designer of the Year: Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Dries Van Noten, Miuccia Prada for Prada, Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino, and Rick Owens

Global Men’s Designer of the Year: Craig Green, Dries Van Noten, Jonathan Anderson for Loewe, Kim Jones for Dior, and Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

The winners will be announced Sept. 14, during New York Fashion Week.

Top: Jewelry designer Jennifer Fisher (photo courtesy of Jennifer Fisher Jewelry)

Follow me on Instagram: @emilivesilind

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine

JCK Senior Editor

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out