Canadian Jewellers Association Appoints New Chairman

The Canadian Jewellers Association has appointed Yakup Tecimer as chairman of its board of directors for 2013–2014.

Tecimer is director of operations at Tecimer Jewellery Ltd., a fine gold and silver jewelery wholesale company in Toronto. He is also a part of the jewelers advisory council to Jewelers Mutual Insurance Co., a supporter of Jewellers Vigilance Canada, a member of the 24 Karat Club, supplier to the Canadian Jewellery Group, the DiGem Group, and a member of the Armenian Jewellers Association.

The rest of the CJA board of directors for 2013–2014 are: 

  • Past Chairman: Kim Markwart, Markwart Jewellers, Tisdale, Saskatchewan
  • First Vice Chairman: Tanya Parrish, Canadian Gem, Montreal
  • Second Vice Chairman: Darren Dubrovsky, Empress, Montreal
  • Treasurer: Geoffrey Beattie, Barclay’s Fine Custom Jewellers, Victoria, British Columbia
  • David Ritter, CJA president & CEO, Toronto
  • Troy Calder, Charm Jewelry Ltd., Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  • Mo Charania, Jubilee Fine Jewellers, Ottawa, Ontario
  • Stephen Cole, Spicer Cole Fine Jewellers, Fredericton, New Brunswick
  • Sonja Sanders, Jewellery by Sanders, Oshawa, Ontario
  • Umesh Shah, Vandan Associates Inc., Toronto
  • Albert Wizman, Wizman Gems International Ltd., Toronto