BaselWorld 2010: Glashütte Original wins “Watch of the Year”

Glashütte Original’s Senator Chronometer was named men’s "Watch of the Year" based on a reader’s poll by the national German-language newspaper "Welt am Sonntag" and the magazine "Armband Uhren" (Wristwatches). For women’s watches, the top vote-getter is Baume & Mercier’s Hampton Class 8811. They, and the other top 10, were announced at "Armband Uhren’s" gala at BaselWorld 2010, in Basel, Switzerland.

For men’s watches, the other top vote getters, from second to 10th place, are: A. Lange & Sohne’s Zeitwerk, Breitling’s Chronomat B01, Patek Philippe’s Calatrava Ref. 5116G, ChronoSwiss‘ Sauterelle 71, Fortis’ B-47 Calculator, Nomos’ Tangomat Datum, Junghans’ Max Bill Automatic, Rolex’s Oyster Perpetual Datajust II, and Rainer Brand’s Argus "Mocca."

In women’s watches, the winners in second through 10th place, are Patek Philippe’s Lady Calatrava Ref. 4897R, Cartier’s Baignoire, IWC’s Da Vinci Automatic, Chronoswiss’s Edition Zeitzeichen V, Rado’s Ceramica Chronograph Jubilé, Nomos’s Orion "rose gold mal gold", Rolex’s Oyster Perpetual Datejust, Glashütte Original’s Lady Serenade Chronograph, and Vacheron Constantin’s Patrimony Traditionelle.