AGA is calling for nominees

The Accredited Gemologists Association (AGA) is inviting organizations worldwide to nominate candidates for its Third Annual Antonio C. Bonanno Award For Excellence in Gemology.

This award, named in honor of the founding father of the AGA for his contributions to the gemological field and his work to establish and maintain high professional standards, was inaugurated in February 2000.

The first award, which consists of a specially commissioned plaque, a medallion, and a check in the amount of $2,000, was presented to Alan Hodgkinson, of Scotland. Last year’s award went to C.R. “Cap” Beesley of the United States. The recipient of the award for 2002 will be announced at the Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner-Dance to be held in Tucson, Ariz., on February 6, 2002, during the International Gem Fair.

Nominees need not be AGA members or U.S. citizens, but they must have made a significant contribution to the field of gemology, or defended and upheld gemological standards in a way that has benefited the larger gem and jewelry community. Accomplishments can be in the field of education, research, instrumentation, or innovative/practical application of gemological procedures or standards.

To nominate someone for the Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology, please write a brief background statement (200 words or less) about the candidate and why you think this award is merited. Phone, fax, or email the nomination, along with your own name and contact information, to David Harris, President, Accredited Gemologists Association, International Headquarters, 888 Brannan St., Ste 1175, San Francisco, CA 94103; fax – 415 252-9348; e-mail, Nominations must be submitted by November 15.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine
JCK logo

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out