JA New York is the traditional forum for design competitions such as JA’s annual New Designer of the Year Award, the JA Jewel Award and the American Jewelry Design Council’s new designer prize of a free booth in the New Designer Gallery. All three were announced at a champagne reception dubbed “Designer Sunday” by the show in the Designer Gallery. Diana Heimann of New York City was named JA New Designer of the Year. The American Jewelry Design Council award was presented to Gloria Stewart of Gloria Fine Jewelry, Scottsdale, Ariz. AJDC also announced that this award has been renamed the Mort Abelson Award. Abelson was the originator of the Designer Gallery concept and is credited by many with introducing the contemporary designer jewelry movement to mainstream U.S. jewelers. In the Jewel Award competition, Rudolf Shtainhorn of Rudolf Jhanna Design Studio and Doris Panos of Dor

This content is exclusive to JCK Pro subscribers. Subscribe now to access this and much more with discount code GOPRO21 for $199 for an entire year of access (reg. $249).


Already a JCK Pro? Log in

A JCK Pro subscription is your all-access pass to people and resources on the
cutting edge of the retail jewelry industry, from the industry authority you
know and trust

Learn about the Perks of JCK Pro

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out