Terry Burman to Present WJA Hall of Fame Award to Anna Martin

The Women’s Jewelry Association announced Thursday that Terry Burman, Group chief executive officer of Signet and chairman of Sterling Jewelers Inc., will present the coveted WJA Hall of Fame Award at its annual Award for Excellence gala on July 29. 

Every year since 1985 Women’s Jewelry Association has recognized one extraordinary woman with its Hall of Fame Award.  This year’s recipient will be Anna Martin, Senior Vice President and Regional Manager, ABN AMRO Bank.

“I am very honored that Anna asked me to present her with the WJA Hall of Fame Award,” Burman said. “Our industry is rich with exceptional women in all segments, but there are few who have made the mark that Anna Martin has in the world of lending to the jewelry industry.  As an innovative business woman and an industry leader, she is truly deserving of this significant award.”

The WJA Awards for Excellence gala will be held at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers in New York City during the JANY Show. Signet/Sterling is among the sponsors of the event, which also include Jewelers Mutual Insurance Company, Platinum Guild International, Gem Certification and Assurance Lab and American Gemological Laboratories.   

In addition to the Hall of Fame Award, WJA will announce the winners for its Awards for Excellence. The 2007 nominees are:

Design, Fine Jewelry & Watches: Eve Alfille, president, Eve J. Alfille Ltd.; Jeanine Payer, designer, Jeanine Payer, Inc.; Laura Gibson, designer, Laura Gibson; Paula Crevoshay, president, Mellika Co., Inc.; Temple St. Clair Carr, designer, Temple St. Clair.

Manufacturer/Dealer/Supplier for Fine Jewelry & Watches: Eve Goldberg, vice president, William Goldberg Diamond Corp.; Gena Alulis, chief executive officer, Superfit, Inc.; Joanne Slawitsky, president, Kassoy

Retail (more than 15 stores): Catherine Coquillard, vice president, Jewelry Merchandising, QVC; Tryna Kochanek, senior vice president, Sterling Jewelers Inc.; Marnie Mika, buyer, Designer Jewelry, Neiman Marcus.

Retail (fewer than 15 stores): Maria Piano, vice president of operations, Shreve & Company; Melissa Geiser, jewelry buyer, Stanley Korshak; Susan Eisen, Susan Eisen Fine Jewelry & Watches.

Sales: Diane Vunic, director of Sales and Marketing, Suna Bros., Inc.; Robin Lutin, regional manager, JCK magazine; Susan Kilkenny, Watch & Jewelry manager, Vogue; Janet Goldman, chief executive officer, Fragments.

Marketing & Communications: Diane Warga-Arias, educationalist and business consultant, DWA Communications, Inc.; Helena Krodel, media manager, Jewelry Information Center; Linda Buckley, vice president, Media Relations, Tiffany & Co.; Michelle Peranteau, manager, Marketing Communications, Platinum Guild International.

Editorial/Reporting/Publishing: Kathleen Fitzpatrick, jewelry editor, Veranda; Sophia Chabbott, accessories market editor, News, Women’s Wear Daily; Severine Ferrari, editor-in-chief, Wedding Dresses.

Special Services: Ana Lopez, University of North Texas; Gail Brett Levine, executive director, National Association of Jewelry Appraisers; Susan Elliott, dean of students, Gemological Institute of America; Yancy Weinrich, event director, Luxury by JCK.

Another highlight of the annual “Awards for Excellence” Gala is a Silent Auction, which benefits the WJA Scholarship Fund. Tickets for the event are $275 for members; $325 for non-members. Tickets and information are available online at www.womensjewelry.org or by calling WJA headquarters at 856-423-3156

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine