Saul Bell Awards

The annual Saul Bell Design Awards were presented Saturday at an invitation-only gala and dinner at Postrio in the Venetian.
Established by Rio Grande in 2000 to honor the company’s founder, the competition invites designers to create original jewelry designs in seven categories. Rio Grande annually awards nearly $30,000 in prizes. This year’s categories and finalists are as follows:

Gold/Platinum—Thomas Dailing, Thomas Dailing Designs; Sowon Joo; James Kaya, Solair Jewelers; Patricia Madeja, Patricia Madeja Studio Jewelry; and Kim Yanke, Yanke Designs.

PMC—Dina Alexander; Claudia Atkins, Handmade Metals & Gems; Barbro Eriksdotter Gendell, Eriksdotter Design; Elizabeth Hall, Lizard’s Jewelry; and Donna Lewis, Belladonnasilver.
Silver—John Casner; Jane Garibaldi, Garibaldi Designs; Chihiro Makio, 314 Studio; Carol Salisbury, Carol Salisbury; Andrea Lucille Shin, Andrea Lucille Designs.

Beads—Larry River, Heart of Gold Gallery; Jonathan Rutledge, Jonathan Lee Rutledge; Susan & Jeff Wise, Future Wise Inc.; Jennifer Wood, Riot Designs; Genevieve Yang, Genevieve Yang.

Hollowware—David Bausman; Charles Funnell; Leslie Laine-Lewis; Joy Stember; Sadie Wang, Sadie Wang.

Swarovski—Beth Kraft, Nordic Gypsy Beads & Jewelry, Yutao Liu, YL Consulting Designs; Kimberly Starbard, Cove Beads; Wendy Wallin Malinow, Wallin Malinow Design; Elizabeth Weaver.

Emerging Artist—Anne Tedesco, Chaparral High School; Haley Holeman, James Madison High School; Rush Radwany, Athens High School; Katherine Eisen, Wellesley High School; Chelsea Wood, Auburn Riverside High School; Amy Malsch, Oconomowoc High School.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine