Online Sales Set Record Over Christmas



It was a record holiday for online sales, according to digital measurement service comScore.

Overall e-commerce spending for the November–December 2011 holiday season reached $37.2 billion, a 15 percent jump from the year before.

Ten individual shopping days this season surpassed $1 billion, led by Cyber Monday, which was the biggest online shopping day for the second consecutive year.

“With brick-and-mortar holiday retail estimated to have grown about four percent this year, it’s clear that e-commerce continues to gain market share from traditional retail,” said comScore chairman Gian Fulgoni in a statement.

According to the company, here were the ten biggest online shopping days of the season:

  • Monday, Nov. 28 (Cyber Monday): $1.25 billion
  • Monday, Dec. 5: $1.18 billion                            
  • Monday, Dec. 12: $1.13 billion
  • Tuesday, Nov. 2: $1,12 billion
  • Tuesday, Dec. 6: $1,11 billion
  • Friday, Dec. 16: $1.07 billion
  • Tuesday, Dec. 13: $1.06 billion
  • Wednesday, Nov. 30: $1,03 billion
  • Thursday, Dec. 8: $1,02 billion
  • Thursday, Dec. 15: $1,02 billion