Online Holiday Shopping Ends Strong

More than $26 billion has been spent online during the first 51 days of the holiday season, a 19-percent gain versus the corresponding days last year, according to comScore, Inc.

“We are continuing to see online spending strength as we get deeper into the season, with the most recent five-day span ending Dec. 21 exhibiting a 25-percent growth rate versus year ago,” said comScore chairman Gian Fulgoni. “At this point of the season, the heaviest online spending days are now well behind us. However, with some online retailers offering deliveries before Christmas for orders placed by Dec. 22, and in-store pickup available for orders placed on Christmas Eve, we expect to see above average growth rates continue through the holiday.”

With online retail spending having already peaked for the season and the heaviest days of the season behind us, “Green Monday” (Monday, December 10) will reign as the heaviest individual spending day of the season with $881 million in sales. “Cyber Monday” (Monday, November 26), which represents the first major spike in online spending activity during the season, ranked as the 9th heaviest day with $733 million in sales.

Top 10 Online Spending Days of 2007 Holiday Season are as follows ($ millions):

Monday, Dec. 10 (“Green Monday”)  $881
Tuesday, Dec. 11,                              $819
Thursday, Dec. 6,                               $803
Wednesday, Dec. 5                            $798
Tuesday, Dec. 4                                 $776
Wednesday, Dec. 12                          $754
Monday, Dec. 3                                 $753
Friday, Dec. 7                                    $734
Monday, Nov. 26 (“Cyber Monday”) $733
Thursday, Nov. 29                             $733

Figures from the Reston, Va.-based company, which measures digital data, excludes travel, auctions, large corporate purchases.