Mid-December is the busiest time for online holiday spending

December 12 and 13 were the top two non-travel retail spending days during the 2005 online holiday shopping season, as of Dec. 13, according to comScore Networks. Meanwhile, “Black Monday,” (Nov. 28), the day being promoted by online retailers as the traditional start of the online holiday season, ranked eighth on the top ten list.

Consumers spent $556 million on Dec. 12 and $554 million Dec. 13 online, according to survey by the Reston, Va.,-based firm, which measures and analyzes consumer behavior and attitudes. Black Monday brought in $484 in non-travel consumer spending.

Non-travel retail spending during the first 43 days of the 2005 online holiday shopping season (ended Dec. 13) totaled $14.41 billion, a 23 percent increase over the $11.68 billion posted during the corresponding period in 2004, according to the survey.

ComScore estimates that consumer spending on non-travel retail goods at U.S. Internet sites will exceed $19 billion for the 2005 holiday season, a 24 percent increase over the 2004 season.

The top ten spending days online (ended Dec. 13), according to comScore, are:

1. Monday, Dec. 12
2. Tuesday, Dec. 13
3. Tuesday, Dec. 6
4. Thursday Dec. 8
5. Monday, Dec. 5
6. Wednesday, Dec. 7
7. Friday, Dec. 9
8. Monday, Nov. 28 (“Black Monday”)
9. Wednesday, Nov. 30
10. Tuesday Nov. 29