Landaw Receives Grand Prize in New Talent Contest

The American Jewelry Design Council, San Francisco, named Nicole Landaw the grand prize winner of its 2007 New Talent Contest. Landaw designs and creates jewelry under the name Nicole Landaw Jewelry in New York City.

The ADJC also recognized three finalists: So Young Park, Rochester, N.Y., Petra Class, San Francisco, and Ken Leung, New York City.

The ADJC, a non-profit educational corporation that recognizes and promotes the understanding of original jewelry designs as art, selects its winner based on the originality, craftsmanship, innovation, marketability, and cohesiveness of design.

As Grand Prize winner, Landaw will receive an all-expense-paid booth to exhibit her collections in the New Designer Gallery at the 2007 JA New York Summer Show, held at the Jacob K. Javits Center. AJDC will honor Landaw at the show during an award ceremony and present her with a trophy made by AJDC-member Michael Good. She will also receive professional support from AJDC members on making the step to larger markets.

Landaw received a BA from Dartmouth College, a MFA in Metalsmithing from Cranbrook Academy of Art, and trained at the prestigious Fachhochschule für Gestaltung in Pforzheim, Germany. Since founding Nicole Landaw Jewelry in 2004, her designs have been featured on television and film, most notably on “The Pink Panther,” HBO’s “Sex and the City” and the crime drama “Without a Trace.” In 2004, she was recognized with the Design Vision Award for Accessories from Gen Art. Landaw resides and maintains her studio in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

The American Jewelry Design Council is a group of more than thirty nationally prominent designers who have banded together in order to increase the artistic appreciation of original fine jewelry. Members of the American Jewelry Design Council are dedicated to elevating the caliber of jewelry design through educational activities and to challenging professional jewelry designers worldwide to actualize their creative potential.

The Council’s current membership includes Alan Revere (Council president), Henry Dunay, Whitney Boin, Sarah Graham, Robert Lee Morris, and the late Steven Kretchmer.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine
JCK logo

Log Out

Are you sure you want to log out?

CancelLog out