Get the Look: Michelle Obama

Congratulations to the new first family! Upon moving into the White House on January 20, 2009, Michelle Obama not only brings her history-making husband, two beautiful girls, and new pet (please go for the pound dog, not the breeder’s pup) but also her seemingly effortless good taste and style. 


Hello new First Family, the Obamas!

Michelle Obama always looks sharp, whether she’s wearing a J. Crew outfit on The Tonight Show or a Narciso Rodriguez dress on Election Day night. And the right jewelry—of course—compliments all of her ensembles. 


Michelle Obama wearing a J. Crew outfit on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. 


A Narciso Rodriguez dress from his fall 2009 collection.


Does Michelle’s dress look familiar? Of course, it’s the same Narciso Rodriguez garment from the runway.

Colorful brooches played a role in her outfits at the Democratic National Convention and on late-night TV, multiple strands of pearls were evident on the campaign trail, and finally, diamonds took the spotlight on Election Day night. If you like what you see, then let Michelle Obama’s fashion sense inspire your own interpretation (suggestions below).


The press reported that her turquoise pin, worn during the Democratic National Convention, is her own and not a loaner.

Paula Crevoshay, www.crevoshay.com 

Paula Crevoshay, www.crevoshay.com 


Michelle wore another fun pin on The Tonight Show.


Paula Crevoshay, www.crevoshay.com 


Todd Reed, www.toddreed.com


Todd Reed, www.toddreed.com


Michelle in white pearl earrings. 

Autore Pearls, www.pearlautore.com.au


Stuller, www.stuller.com


Michelle in a short white pearl necklace. 


Gellner, www.gellner.com


Michelle in multiple brown strands.


Shogun Pearl, www.shogunpearl.com 

 

 


Gellner, www.gellner.com


And Michelle again in multiple white strands. Do you think she likes pearls?

King Plutarco, www.kingplutarco.com


And a few more examples, just to drive home the pearl point. She loves them!

Jewelmak, www.jewelmak.com 

Zeira, www.zeira.com 

 


The busy First Lady-elect also wears a watch and wedding ring.


Martin Flyer, www.martinflyer.com 

Zenith, www.zenith.com 


Voilá, www.voilawatches.com


Elegant bead strands and subtle drop earrings. 

Fern Freeman, fernfree@aol.com or online at Whim Jewels http://www.whimjewels.com/istar.asp?tfile=designersBios.template

 


Chandelier drops for the evening. 


Zeira, www.zeira.com

Autore Pearls, www.pearlautore.com.au


Brumani, www.brumani.com


Subtle drop earrings to blend with the complicated neckline on the dress.

Eugene Biro, www.eugenebiro.com


Jye’s, www.jyescorp.com


Simple gold necklaces and stud earrings. 


Corsage for Dannunzio, www.dannunziony.com 


Alex Woo, www.alexwoo.com 

KC Designs, www.kcdesignsnyc.com

 


And what’s better than diamonds to celebrate a big night? Answer: more diamonds. Thus, Mrs. Obama dons oversize diamond drop earrings and bangle bracelets on Election Day night. 

Corsage for Dannunzio, www.dannunziony.com

 

Daniel K., www.danielk.net

 

 

Daniel K., www.danielk.net

 


Zeira, www.zeira.com


OGI, www.ogi-ltd.com Bangles and bands