I’ve Got Some Big Personal News to Share



If you’re reading this, that must mean one of two things: I’ve either gone into labor or already given birth to a baby boy!

My partner, Jim, and I have spent most of the past nine months in a mild state of disbelief. Getting pregnant wasn’t easy, but being pregnant has been, quite surprisingly, a breeze. I haven’t suffered any nausea nor unfortunate complications since a “BFP”—fertility-speak for “big fat positive”—appeared on my home pregnancy test on St. Patrick’s Day. In fact, I flew to Switzerland to attend the Baselworld fair just a few days after that and continued to travel all the way up until my 32nd week, including four trips overseas and at least six trips domestically.

I’m rather late to the parenthood party—I turned 45 in June—but I know deep in my bones that this baby was always a part of my destiny.

I’ll be taking about 12 weeks off, give or take a couple weeks, so don’t be surprised when your emails to vgomelsky@jckonline.com go unanswered. Gratefully, Off the Chain will continue, thanks to our longtime contributor Kristin Young, who will be writing weekly posts for the blog in my absence.

Now, for the boilerplate:

For news leads, tips, and inquiries and info about stories that appear on JCKonline.com, please contact news director Rob Bates at rbates@jckonline.com.

For questions about JCK’s print issues, your best contact is managing editor Melissa Bernardo at mbernardo@jckonline.com.

For questions about or submissions for upcoming photo shoots, please reach out to jewelry editor Rima Suqi at jck@rimasuqi.com.

For stories related to retail or technology or questions about JCK’s social media presence, senior editor and social media editor Emili Vesilind at evesilind@gmail.com is your go-to.

For style and design coverage, be in touch with On Your Market blogger Brittany Siminitz at bsiminitz@jckonline.com and/or All That Glitters blogger Amy Elliott at aelliott718@gmail.com.

For questions about my blog, Off the Chain, please contact contributor Kristin Young, who will be covering for me during my leave, at kristintayloryoung@gmail.com.

For questions related to advertising, your best bet is publisher Mark Smelzer at msmelzer@reedjewelrygroup.com.

Have a wonderful holiday and a fantastic start to 2019! I’m looking forward to seeing all of you at next year’s JCK Las Vegas, which returns to the Sands Expo and Venetian Hotel on May 31 for the first time since 2010. Lord knows, I’ll be ready for a cocktail (or five) by then!

Top: My dear friend Michelle gifted us this incredible customized onesie. See the About/Our Name section at gomelskywatches.com for the details!

JCK Magazine Editor