AGS elects board members

The American Gem Society elected several new members of the board of directors ratified by membership at the recent International Conclave in Atlanta, Georgia. Members filling new roles on the AGS Board of Directors include President Bill Sites, CGA of Sites Jewelers and Vice President/President-elect Craig Underwood, CGA of Underwood’s Jewelers.

Newly elected office members include Secretary Mark Moeller, CGA of R.F. Moeller Jeweler; Marketing Committee Chair Michael Greene, CGA of Wick and Greene Jewelers; International Guilds Committee Chair Thomas Wright, CGA of Wright’s Jewelers; and At-Large Director David Gardner, CG of David Gardner’s Jewelers.

Returning board members are Senior Advisor John Michaels, RJ of Michaels Jewelers; Board Membership & Training Committee Chair Marcee Feinberg, RS of LKI; Education Committee Chair Bill Sustachek, CGA of Rasmussen Diamonds; Gemological Sciences Committee Chair Chris Bramlett, CGA of Christopher’s Jewelers; Finance/Audit/Legal Committee Chair Harton B. Wolf, CGA of Henne Jewelers, Inc.; and Membership Committee Chair Georgie Gleim, CG of Gleim the Jeweler and At-Large Director positions filled by Gary Banks, RS of Keppie-Kiger and Cathy Calhoun, CGA of Calhoun Jewelers. Additional automatically appointed Board Members include AGS Laboratories Board of Managers Chair Charles Lacy, RJ of Lacy and Co. and an advisory seat to the Jewelers Education Foundation Board of Governors President Jeff Abell, CSA of Sarah Leonard Fine Jewelers.

Sites has served four consecutive terms on the AGS board, on numerous committees and as co-chair of the International Admissions Board. After receiving his Graduate Gemologist degree in 1976, Sites brought the family business into the AGS. He obtained the titles of Registered Jeweler and Certified Gemologist and received the designation of Accredited Gemological Laboratory of the AGS. Additionally, Sites has served as board member and president of the Tennessee Jewelers Association.

Underwood has served on the AGS Board of Directors continuously for the past ten years. During this time, he has served as the Diamonds Standards Committee Chair, AGS Lab Gemological Committee Chair, and is the founding Chair of the Fancy Cut Grade Task Force. Underwood holds the AGS titles of Certified Gemologist and Certified Gemologist Appraiser.

Moeller has previously served on the AGS Board of Directors as a director at-large and chair of the Organizations and Procedures Committee. He also served on the AGS Board of Trustees during its operation. In addition to his civic and community leadership activities, he is a past Chair of the AGS Laboratories Board of Managers and has held numerous leadership positions in the jewelry industry including member.

Michaels served as the CFO of the AGS Board of Trustees. Additionally, he has served on several AGS boards and was President from 1991-1993. Michaels has also been active with the Jewelers Vigilance Committee and the Jewelers Education Foundation, and he has also been inducted into the National Jeweler Retail Hall of Fame.