AGA Calls for Nominations

The Accredited Gemologists Association is calling for nominations for The
Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology.

The award is named in honor of its founding father for his contributions to the
gemological field and his work to establish and maintain high professional
standards.  Past recipients of the award include Dr. Henry Hanni of
Switzerland; Alan Hodgkinson and Alan Jobbins of the United Kingdom; Richard W.
Hughes of Thailand; CR Beesley, Robert Crowningshield, John Koivula, Antoinette
Matlins, Shane McClure, Jim Shigley, and Chris Smith of the United States.

The award consists of a specially commissioned bronze plaque, along with a
specially commissioned medallion and check for $2,000.  Winners are
announced each year in Tucson, Arizona, at a Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner
Dance held at the conclusion of the AGA Gemological Conference. This year’s
conference and award ceremony will be held on February 2, 2011, during the
Tucson International Gem Fair.

Candidates must have made a significant contribution to the field of gemology
or defended and upheld gemological standards in a way that has significantly
benefited the gem and jewelry community.  Accomplishments can be in the
field of education, research, instrumentation, or the discovery of innovative
techniques or practices that can be applied to gemological procedures or

To nominate someone for the award, write a brief background statement (200
words or less) about the candidate and why the award is merited. Send the
nomination, along with your own name and contact information, to AGA Award
Committee, c/o G-Force Services, 3315 Juanita Street, San Diego, CA 92105, or
fax to 480-247-5958. Nominations can also be made online, on the AGA website.
Nominations for this year’s award must be received by October 30, 2010.

Follow JCK on Instagram: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Twitter: @jckmagazine
Follow JCK on Facebook: @jckmagazine