JCK 5: Cocktail Party



If it’s always 5 o’clock somewhere in the world, then the time is always right for cocktail rings. New styles feature fat pearls, chiseled chunks of metal, and gemstones bursting from mountings with shanks as wide as weight-lifting belts, all threatening to take an eye out if the party turns into a raucous affair. No matter your fancy—sapphire or diamond, crystal or quartz—there’s a ring ideal for clinking glasses during all of your happy hours. 

 

 

 

 

Under $5,000

1

(Above) Pink sapphire and brilliant-cut diamond Cloisonné Peony ring in 18k yellow gold and blackened white gold; $4,500; Dickson Yewn at Fragments Showroom, New York City; 212-226-8878; yewn.com

2

Round tourmalated quartz ring in 14k gold; $670; Jessica Ricci, Providence, R.I.; 401-215-4904; jessicariccijewelry.com

 

Robert Brewster/Warren Jagger Photography

3

Pink druzy set in 14k gold-filled band; $150; Gara Danielle, Los Angeles; 323-650-5100; garadanielle.com

 

Emma Hopson

4

Bedara ring in 18k gold with colorless diamonds and South Seas pearl; $4,375; Colette Jewelry, Los Angeles; 310-786-1738; colettejewelry.com

5

Champagne quartz Aurora ring in 18k gold with diamond accents; $3,900; Judith Ripka, New York City; 212-517-8200; judithripka.com

 

Over $5,000

1

Reti ring in 18k rose gold with amethyst; $5,050; Lucifer Vir Honestus, Milan, Italy; 39-02-2900-4270; lucifer-vir-honestus.com

2

Pastis ring with white agate and .81 cts. t.w. diamonds in 18k gold; $5,500; Carla Amorim, Chicago; 312-305-6476; carlaamorim.com.br

3

One-of-a-kind ring with hand-carved topaz and parrot painted on the inside, set in 24k gold and sterling silver with multi-colored diamonds and sapphires; $28,416; Sevan Bicakci at ViewPoint Showrooms, New York City; 800-237-9477; vpnyc.com

4

3.12 cts. rose-cut and 2.75 cts. t.w. brilliant-cut diamonds enclosed in double white sapphires, set in 18k gold and blackened silver; $12,500; Moritz Glik at Fragments Showroom, New York City; 212-226-8878; moritzglik.com

5

Pascha ring with carved ruby and diamonds in 18k gold and blackened silver; $5,350; Atelier Minyon, New York City; 646-478-7220; minyonusa.com