Head of the Glass: Awesome Enamel Jewelry



Gemstones aren’t the only way to punch up -jewelry with pigment. Semitransparent and opaque enamel or hot glass serves as ornament and protective coating—making pieces pop with color. Hand-painted embellishments on gold create covetable designs to be treasured for generations to come. Plus: The age-old technique can be a more affordable alternative to pricier precious gems.

 

OVER $5,000

(Top) Champlevé enamel cuff with abalone, opals, emeralds, aquamarines, and diamonds; price on request; Masterstrokes by Jewels Emporium, Jaipur, India; 800-103-1841; jewelsemporium.com

 

(Inset) 18k gold dragonfly in plique-à-jour enamel with diamonds on 18-inch chain; $5,930; Nicole Barr, Raleigh, N.C.; us-info@nicolebarr.com; nicolebarr.com

 

jck0616_look_alicecicolini.jpg
Jodhpur enamel and aquamarine ring in 22k yellow gold; $6,095; Alice Cicolini, London; anahita@valerydemure.com; alicecicolini.com
 

 

jck0616_look_skywatch.jpg
Skywatch mini medallion enamel and diamond pendant in 18k white gold; $5,500; NC Rocks, Dubai, UAE; sales@nc-rocks.com; nc-rocks.com 

 

jck0616_look_sabinegetty.jpg
Ear cuff with enamel, sapphires, and diamonds in 18k white gold; $15,876; Sabine Getty, London; 44-207-018-7557; sabinegetty.com

 

UNDER $5,000

 

jck0616_look_alisonlou.jpg
Earrings in 14k gold with hand-painted enamel and 0.22 ct. t.w. diamonds; $4,545; Alison Lou, NYC; sales@alisonlou.com; alisonlou.com
 

 

jck0616_look_robertobravo.jpg
Ring in 14k gold with enamel, 2.75 ct. white agate, 0.29 ct. t.w. white sapphire, and 0.03 ct. t.w. diamonds; $1,302; Roberto Bravo, Istanbul; 90-212-458-1720; robertobravo.com

 

jck0616_look_pasqualebruni.jpg
Studs and jackets in 18k rose gold with red enamel; $2,290; Pasquale Bruni at the ANIMA Group, NYC; 800-868-5532; pasqualebruni.com

 

jck0616_look_johnhardy.jpg
Bamboo bangles in silver with enamel; $1,100 (set of 5); John Hardy, NYC; 888-838-3022; johnhardy.com
 

 

jck0616_look_foundrae.jpg
Strength cigar band with red enamel in 18k yellow gold; $2,850; Foundrae, NYC; 646-745-6831; foundrae.com