Fire and Ice: Gorgeous Opal, Morganite, Tanzanite, Carved Stone & Multicolored Jewelry



It’s hard to stay cool in the presence of so much hotness. Whether you’re talking about respendent opal, mood-enhancing morganite, trendy tanzanite, quirky carved stones, or a rainbow mix of all of the above, count on us to get the temp just right.

 

 

 

 

 

BURN NOTICE
These incandescent opal jewels are almost too hot to handle.

(From top, left) Ring in 18k gold with fire opal and diamonds, $15,742Yael Designs, San Francisco, 415-989-9235, yaeldesigns.com; ring in 18k gold with South American opal and diamonds, $20,400, Pamela Huizenga Jewelry, NYC, 646-528-8299, pamelahuizenga.com; ring in 18k gold with boulder opal, tsavorite, and colored sapphires, $22,800, Lydia Courteille, Paris, 33-14-261-1171, lydiacourteille.com; earrings in 22k and 18k gold with Australian Yowah opals, tsavorite garnets, and chrome tourmalines, $6,000, Zaffiro, Portland, Ore., 503-236-6735, zaffirojewelry.com

LET THERE BE WHITE

Get your glow on with shimmery Ethiopian and creamy Turkish opals.

Beyond 14-strand Ethiopian bead necklace in 18k gold, $14,000, Goshwara, NYC, 888-8-GOSHWARA, goshwara.com; earrings in 18k gold with Turkish white opal, moonstones, and diamonds, $14,520, Nina Runsdorf,
NYC, 212-382-1243, nsrjewelry.com

 

MIXED CUTS
Multicolored confections help you make a rainbow connection.

(From top) Bamboo-motif hoop earrings in 18k gold with mixed gemstones and diamonds, $6,380, BELLARRI, Scottsdale, Ariz., 800-255-0192, bellarri.com; Rainbow Halo rings in 18k gold with mixed-color sapphires, $2,420 each, Polly Wales Fine Jewellery, Epping, U.K., 44-781-304-9949, pollywales.com; Dragonfly Kite earrings in 18k gold with mixed gemstones, $21,000, Lydia Courteille, Paris, 33-14-261-1171, lydiacourteille.com; Ombré eternity bands in 18k gold with sapphires, $800–$1,500, evelynH. Jewelry, Los Angeles, 213-415-1968, evelynh.com


WHAT A PEACH
Journey through the pastels with chic, rosy-hued morganite.

Earrings in 18k gold with morganite and diamonds, $38,948, Le Vian, Great Neck, N.Y., 877-253-8426, levian.com; ring in 18k gold with morganite and diamonds, $16,035, Yael Designs, San Francisco, 415-989-9235, yaeldesigns.com; pendant necklace in 18k rose gold with morganite and diamonds, $9,565, Makur, NYC, 877-776-2587, makurdesigns.com


CARVED IN STONE
These mini-sculptures transform gems into wearable works of art.

(Clockwise from top) Pennacchio ring in 18k gold with carved turquoise rose, $2,500, Lucifer vir Honestus, Milan, 39-22-900-4270, lucifer-vir-honestus.com; ring in 18k gold with carved aquamarine and diamonds, $17,600, Pamela Huizenga Jewelry, NYC, 646-528-8299, pamelahuizenga.com; scarab necklace in 18k gold with carved white agate and diamonds, $8,750, Silvia Furmanovich at MUSE, NYC, 212-463-7950, silviafurmanovich.com; earrings in platinum with carved tourmaline flowers and orange and colorless diamonds, $24,000, Babette Shennan, San Francisco, 650-450-0259, babetteshennan.com


MOOD INDIGO
Who could be blue in these luxurious tanzanite designs?

(Clockwise from far right) Earrings in 18k gold with tanzanite and diamonds, $68,747, Le Vian, Great Neck, N.Y., 877-253-8426, levian.com; necklace in 18k gold with tanzanite and Tahitian pearls, $19,700, Mimi So, NYC, 212-300-8620, mimiso.com; ring in 14k gold with tanzanite and diamonds, $17,080, Effy, NYC, 212-944-0020, effyjewelry.com; necklace in 18k gold with tanzanite, $5,710, Ray Griffiths, NYC, 212-689-7209, raygriffiths.com; ring in 18k gold with tanzanite and diamonds, $20,790, Sylvie Collection, Plano, Texas, 214-472-9992, sylviecollection.com; ring in 18k gold with tanzanite slice, sapphires, and diamonds, $12,000, Sutra, Houston, 713-984-4987, sutrajewels.com