Catch Them If You Cab: Cabochon-Cut Jewels for All Occasions



Sleek cabochon cuts have swiftly become the design set’s go-to stone style. Like a wearable crystal ball of color, these smooth operators perfectly capture a gem’s brilliant hues. Cool inclusions, meanwhile, are a focal point of interest, captured forever in precious dome form. Bonus: Cabs often cost less than their faceted (and more formal) counterparts.

OVER $10,000

(Top) Pink opal and diamond bangle in 18k rose gold; $35,500Sutra, Houston; 713-984-4987; sutrajewels.com

(Inset) Ethiopian opal, coral, and diamond ring in 18k rose gold; $17,600Nina Runsdorf, NYC; 212-382-1243; nsrjewelry.com 

jck0516_look_armansarkisyan.jpg
Ethiopian opal and diamond earrings in sterling silver and 22k yellow gold; $18,820; Arman Sarkisyan, Los Angeles; 818-808-0112; armansarkisyan.com
 

jck0516_look_ericacourtney.jpg
Divided Sky paraiba-in-matrix ring with diamonds in 18k yellow gold; $22,000; Erica Courtney, Los Angeles; 323-938-2373; ericacourtney.com 
 

jck0516_look_buddha.jpg
Cuff in 20k gold with Sleeping Beauty turquoise and coral and 3.86 cts. t.w. diamonds; $24,600; Buddha Mama, Miami; 305-213-2107; buddhamama.com

 

UNDER $10,000
 

jck0516_look_doves.jpg
Earrings in 18k rose gold with amethyst over pink mother-of-pearl, brown diamonds, and colorless diamonds; $2,620; Doves by Doron Paloma, Great Neck, N.Y.; 888-663-6837; dovesjewelry.com
 

jck0516_look_novick.jpg
Open bangle in 14k yellow gold with a 22.91 ct. pink opal and 0.18 ct. t.w. diamonds; $2,610; Phyne by Paige Novick, NYC; 212-252-1441; paigenovick.com
 

jck0516_look_likabehar.jpg
Sloane ring in 24k gold with a 7.5 ct. rectangular-shape milky aquamarine and 0.08 ct. t.w. diamonds; $2,910; Lika Behar, Carlstadt, N.J.; 201-933-7200; likabehar.com

jck0516_look_albertson.jpg
Bubble cuff bracelet in 22k gold with tourmalines; $9,600; Stephanie Albertson, NYC; 866-217-8374; stephaniealbertson.com
 

jck0516_look_daria.jpg
Earrings in 18k gold with 33.95 cts. t.w. amethysts and peridot, aquamarine, and amethyst accents; $5,800; Daria DeKoning, NYC; 646-543-9020; dariadekoning.com