Skip navigation
Magazine
From JCK Magazine

Colored Stone Age

From potent pinks to pietra dura, the season’s most sought-after stones are popping up in some unexpected places. Starting with the ring finger…

Features
By JCK Staff
This story appears in the February 2011 issue of JCK magazine
Printer-friendly versionsend to friend
Comments
Colored Stone Age
Photographs by Ted Morrison, Styling by Brooke Magnaghi

Here Comes the Bride

Marry her in one of these splashy center stones
(Clockwise from far left) Platinum ring with  2.59 ct. sapphire and 0.92 ct. t.w. diamonds, $20,000, Designs by Ashok Sancheti, NYC, 800-991-4490, pioneergems.com; platinum ring with 5.41 ct. yellow sapphire and 0.78 ct. t.w. diamonds, $11,000, Kazanjian Brothers, Beverly Hills, 310-278-0811, kazanjianbros.com; platinum ring with 12.66 ct. emerald cabochon and 0.36 ct. t.w. diamonds, $260,000, Siegelson, NYC, 212-832-2666, siegelson.com; platinum ring with 3.26 ct. sapphire and 1.10 cts. t.w. diamonds, $15,000, Fusaro, Greenwich, Conn.; 203-869-6295, fusarojewelry.com; 18k gold ring with 7.27 ct. rubellite and 0.95 ct. t.w. diamonds, $7,260, Simon G., Glendale, Calif., 800-627-2661, simongjewelry.com; platinum ring with 4.78 ct. Mozambique Paraiba and 1.05 cts. t.w. diamonds, $85,000, Akiva Gil, NYC, 212-371-0400, akivagil.com

La Vie En Rose

A sumptuous selection sure to turn you into a pink lady
(Clockwise from far left) Necklace with 18k gold accents and 130 cts. t.w. rubellite, $70,000, Syna, Fort Lee, N.J., 201-585-2021, synajewels.com; 18k gold ring with 31.85 ct. pink opal and 0.98 ct. t.w. diamonds, $4,000, Vanna K, Van Nuys, Calif., 800-821-2351, vannak.com; 18k gold ring with 38.67 ct. rose quartz, 3.94 cts. t.w. pink sapphires, and 1.04 cts. t.w. diamonds, $18,000, Jennifer Morin, Santa Barbara, Calif., 805-886-8465, jenniferjoailliers.com; 18k gold earrings with 17.26 cts. t.w. morganite, 5.02 cts. t.w. rubellite, and 1.64 cts. t.w. diamonds, $13,014, Yael Designs, San Francisco, 415-989-9235, yaeldesigns.com; silver necklace with 200 cts. t.w. white topaz set against pink foil, $5,000, Larkspur & Hawk, NYC, 212-340-9067, larkspurandhawk.com; 18k gold ring with 13.32 ct. rubellite cabochon and 0.26 ct. t.w. diamonds, $10,000, Akiva Gil, NYC, 212-371-0400, akivagil.com

Fire Storm

What’s not to love about opal’s tempest of swirls?
(Clockwise from left) Lariat with fire opal in 14k gold, $1,790, Tiffany Peay, Tiveron, R.I., 888-808-0201, tiffanypeay.com; frog brooch in 18k gold with 2.32 cts. t.w. opals, 1.08 cts. t.w. moonstones, and 0.03 ct. t.w. pink sapphires, $38,000, Gregoré Morin, Santa Barbara, Calif., 805-453-6073, gregorejoailliers.com; earrings with 23.24 cts. t.w. Mexican fire opal, 3.91 cts. t.w. fancy rose-cut sapphires, and 0.12 ct. t.w. diamonds in 18k gold, $4,200, Alejandra Jewels, NYC, 917-464-5625, alejandrajewels.com; opal choker in 18k gold, $8,000, Pippa Small, NYC, 866-301-6873, pippasmall.com; Cinta ring in 18k gold with 70.95 ct. t.w. fire opal, 2.2 cts. t.w. yellow sphene, 0.69 ct. t.w. yellow sapphire, and 1.76 cts. t.w. diamonds, $14,000, John Hardy, NYC, 888-838-3022, johnhardy.com; 18k gold ring with 10.06 ct. opal, 0.61 ct. t.w. green tourmaline, and 0.58 ct. t.w. diamonds, $163,200, Paula Crevoshay, Albuquerque, N.M., 505-898-2888, crevoshay.com

Solid as a Rock

Hard stones bound to soften even the toughest girl’s heart  
(Clockwise from far left) Ring in 18k gold with 75.50 ct. onyx and 0.07 ct. t.w. diamonds, $2,100, Yael Sonia, NYC, 212-472-6488, yaelsonia.com; silver and 22k gold plate bracelet with lapis, onyx, white topaz, and diamonds, $3,000, Maya Jewels, NYC, 212-473-2291, mayajewels.com; Aldo Cipullo lapis and chrysoprase necklace with 18k gold, $42,000, Camilla Dietz Bergeron, NYC, 212-794-9100, cdbltd.com; Roxanne necklace in lapis with 24k gold, $7,235, Yossi Harrari, NYC, 866-301-6873, yossiharari.com; ring in 18k gold-plated brass with Tiger’s eye, $280, Kara Ross, NYC, 646-249-1987, kararossny.com; banded carnelian cuff with 18k gold, $1,650, Camilla Dietz Bergeron

To receive the latest jewelry news and blogs every day, subscribe to JCK’s e-newsletter here.
© 2014 Reed Exhibitions, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. Use of this website is subject to its Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Website design and management by McMurry/TMG, a custom media firm. 1129 20th Street NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036.